Is there really a dairy-free chocolate for those with Lactose Intolerance? Can you eat chocolate if you are Lactose intolerant? The answer is yes, but you need to know a few things before you buy Easter, Halloween, Christmas or Valentine chocolates, or grab a chocolate candy bar off the shelf when shopping.
I am lactose intolerant. After months of feeling sick every day, and a few years of feeling badly to a lesser degree, I learned in November of 2011 that I am lactose intolerant. This meant I had to learn what foods contain dairy that I CAN'T eat, what dairy foods DON'T contain lactose that I CAN eat, reading labels to make sure milk isn't hidden in the ingredients, and finding replacements for many foods that I love but must now avoid. It's a challenge, but not impossible, to have your chocolate and eat it too...without symptoms of Lactose Intolerance.