Interstellar: Science Fiction Film Review

by DerdriuMarriner

The science fiction film Interstellar correctly depicts black and worm holes, gravitational anomalies and slingshots, and space colonies and stations.

Interstellar models the possibility of interplanetary, interstellar flights:

Interstellar acquaints movie-lovers with space flights and times to Saturn and within black and worm holes. It brings to film-lovers accurate science fiction representations of black and worm holes and sound scientific theorizations on space events and shapes. It considers possible -- but unlikely, per California Institute of Technology’s experts -- futures of blight-destroyed crops and oxygen-deficient atmospheres for asphyxiated, starved Earthlings.

The situation drives astronaut Joseph Cooper (Matthew McConaughey) to abandon test-piloting, pursue farming, and try parenting agriculture-loving, fifteen-year-old Tom (Timothée Chalamet) and science-minded, ten-year-old Murph (Mackenzie Foy) on father-in-law Donald’s (John Lithgow) farm. Old careers nevertheless emerge in Murph’s bedroom with gravitationally anomalous free-falls of:

• books;
• coins; and
• sand.

Anomaly #3 indeed furnishes NASA coordinates.

*****

https://interstellar.withgoogle.com/

*****

Mackenzie Foy (born November 10, 2000) plays Murphy "Murph" Cooper as 10-year-old child who notices strange events seemingly precipitated by a friendly ghost.

December 2014
December 2014

Interstellar nudges super-big, super-fast, super-intense, super-small gravitational anomalies

 

National Aeronautics and Space Administration scientist, Professor John Brand (Michael Caine), gets Coop to pilot Endurance with scientists:

  • Amelia Brand (Anne Hathaway);
  • Doyle (Wes Bentley); and
  • Nikolai Romilly (David Gyasi).

Endurance handles 12.43 mile-per-second (20 kilometer-per-second) speeds during two-year flights to Saturn. Its itinerary includes an off-Saturn wormhole to the black hole Gargantua.

The quartet journeys with 5,000 frozen embryos for colonizing habitable exo-planets, of which three of twelve now-dead astronauts identify one each. Tsunamis nevertheless kill Doyle on Miller’s planet, which orbits Gargantua’s circumference. Twenty-three Earth-years later, exploded bombs and mis-docking procedures respectively leave Rom and Dr. Hugh Mann (Matt Damon) dead on Endurance after Mann’s planet, which orbits Gargantua’s horizon, emerges as super-cold, super-poisonous, super-sunless.

 

Iceland's Svínafellsjökull glacier doubles for Mann's planet in "Interstellar."

southeastern Iceland
southeastern Iceland

Interstellar operates within Einsteinian, Newtonian, quantum-mechanics, super-string contexts

 

Endurance moves Amelia and robot CASE (Josh Stewart) to Edmunds’ habitable exo-planet through fuel-/time-saving slingshots around Gargantua. But mass/velocity ratios necessitate Coop and robot TARS (Bill Irwin) shuttling into Gargantua’s center-located singularity. Coop and TARS nevertheless obtain instantaneous shelter within a tesseract (cube within a cube) when light-/space-/time-warping, super-intense gravity destroys the shuttle.

The solar system’s four-dimensionalism in the universe’s ten-dimensionalism permits Coop to change human extinction, not terrestrial demise. The seconds-hand on Murph’s (Jessica Chastain) watch quickens as Coop Morse-codes the singularity’s data for astro-scientists to make Earthling-filled space stations orbit Saturn until viable exo-planets can be colonized. Its realization results in Murph’s attributing her room’s gravitational anomalies to Coop’s communicating spatially and temporally through gravity.

 

In "Interstellar" Murphy "Murph" Cooper (Jessica Chastain) unravels some space-time mysteries which have puzzled her since childhood.

Jessica Chastain in September, one month prior to October 26, 2014, release at TCL Chinese Theatre
September 5 - 14, 2014: Deauville Film Festival, northwestern France
September 5 - 14, 2014: Deauville Film Festival, northwestern France

Interstellar permits gravity-facilitated contacts from human-descended fifth dimension-dwellers

 

The disintegrating tesseract sends Coop through the wormhole to Cooper Station off Saturn. The hours beyond Coop’s original two-year flight take 74+ Earth-years, with such consequences as:

  • Donald being buried next to Coop’s wife;
  • John dying believing in Plan B (colonization), not A (space station);
  • Murph marrying Dr. Getty (Topher Grace);
  • Tom (Casey Affleck) marrying Lois (Leah Cairns);

So Interstellar values culturally enriching, educationally entertaining, geo-historically enthralling insights into scientifically plausible films, thanks to:

  • Lee Smith, editor;
  • Nathan Crowley, production designer;
  • Jordan Goldberg, Jake Myers, Kip Thorne, executive producers;
  • Hoyte van Hoytema, photography director;
  • Christopher Nolan, director/producer/writer;
  • Jonathan Nolan, writer;
  • Lynda Obst, Emma Thomas, Thomas Tull, producers;
  • Lee Smith, editor;
  • Hans Zimmer, musician;
  • Mary Zophres, costume designer. 

 

Interstellar ~ Available via Amazon Instant Video ~ Rent or Buy with 1-Click®

Interstellar

Interstellar ~ Blu-Ray ~ Available now on Amazon

Also available as DVD.
Interstellar

Acknowledgment

 

My special thanks to:

  • Talented artists and photographers/concerned organizations who make their fine images available on the Internet;
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University for superior on-campus and on-line resources.

 

International Morse Code: Gravity enables Joseph "Coop" Cooper (Matthew McConaughey) to convey critical information in Morse Code to his daughter Murph.

Rhey T. Snodgrass and Victor F. Camp, Radio Receiving for Beginners (1922), pp. 96-97
Rhey T. Snodgrass and Victor F. Camp, Radio Receiving for Beginners (1922), pp. 96-97

Sources Consulted

 

Thorne, Kip. 2014. The Science of Interstellar. New York, NY, U.S.A.; and London, England, U.K.: W.W. Norton & Company. 

 

Theoretical physicist Kip Stephen Thorne (born June 1, 1940) explained the stunning science of "Interstellar" in a subsequent bestseller, "The Science of Interstellar."

August 17, 2007: California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, southern California
August 17, 2007: California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, southern California
the end which is also the beginning
the end which is also the beginning

Orion 10015 StarBlast 4.5 Astro Reflector Telescope (Teal) ~ Available now via Amazon ~ This is one of the telescopes I happily use to scan the skies!

Great compact grab-and-go telescope for entry-level and intermediate astronomy enthusiasts *4.5 inch aperture + fast f/4 focal ratio for bright detailed views of solar system targets (Moon, planets) + wide-field celestial objects (nebulas, star clusters)
telescopes

Interstellar: theatrical release poster ~ Available via AllPosters

Interstellar

Orion 09798 StarBlast 4.5 Equatorial Reflector Telescope, Metallic Green ~ Available now via Amazon

Fast f/4 optics and short focal length provide very wide field of view, making it easy to locate celestial objects without having to hunt around EQ-1 equatorial telescope mount makes tracking night-sky objects easy using included slow motion controls.
telescopes

Me and my purrfectly purrfect Maine coon kittycat, Augusta "Gusty" Sunshine

Gusty and I thank you for reading this article and hope that our product selection interests you; Gusty Gus receives favorite treats from my commissions.
DerdriuMarriner, All Rights Reserved
DerdriuMarriner, All Rights Reserved
Updated: 09/19/2016, DerdriuMarriner
 
Thank you! Would you like to post a comment now?
8

Comments


   Login
DerdriuMarriner on 06/04/2015

Mira, Scientists cannot make Einsteinian, Newtonian, and quantum theories explain all things in regard to the universe without ending up contradicting one another. For example, the above first two theories do not account for the super-big, super-intense, or super-small whereas the last theory explains the super-small, but not in terms of gravity.
The key to a unified theory -- Stephen Hawking's "theory of everything" -- is in recognizing more than the one temporal and three spatial dimensions in which humans live and in understanding light as not only a particle but also a wave. The result is the Green/Schwarz super-string theory, which reconciles all of the above theories by situating us within a one temporal- and nine spatial-dimensioned universe variously called "brane," "bulk," and "membrane" (and short-cutted as fifth dimension -- even though there are at least ten in the theory -- in "Interstellar"). The additional dimensions reflect the curled-up, curved configurations which space outside of human endeavors assumes.
Stephen Hawking and Kip Thorne thus far find it difficult to believe that people can live in the fifth dimension even though "Interstellar" appears to be saying that humans create the tesseract (cube within a cube) and help Coop (Matthew McConaughey) communicate with his daughter Murph (Jessica Chastain). It nevertheless may be possible that what happens in the fifth dimension can be witnessed by humans. Things that are moved around by poltergeists or that go bump in the night may be communications -- effected through gravity -- from the fifth dimension!
It's an extremely enlightening and entertaining endeavor to read Kip Thorne's book "The Science of Interstellar" -- which is full of helpful explanations and illustrations -- and see the movie.

DerdriuMarriner on 06/04/2015

The older version with Michael Rennie is one of my absolute favorite science fiction films even though I'm a fan of Keanu Reeves, particularly in "47 Ronin," "John Wick," "The Matrix" series, and "Much Ado About Nothing."
Joseph Lockard Martin, the "gentle giant" who plays Gort in the black-and-white version, also appears in another favorite of mine, "Invaders from Mars."

Mira on 05/28/2015

Oh, I forgot to say that I never thought about multiple dimensions and unexplained events in the same breath. I really should read more. And I do read science fiction now and then. Glad to read your comments about this film.

Mira on 05/28/2015

I saw The Day the Earth Stood Still just the other day on TV. Saw it for the second time. But you're right, the title points to an earlier film. I'll order it from Amazon :). I see it has a high rating on imdb as well. I enjoyed the Keanu Reeves film too, and I really like Jennifer Connelly :)

DerdriuMarriner on 05/28/2015

Mira, The film is appealing to non-scientists because of the adventures and to scientists because of the accuracy. For example, if people can live in dimensions outside what we know on Earth, then their presence can be detected by unexplained events, such as books falling mysteriously off stable shelves, dust forming into coded patterns, and second-hands messaging in Morse code.
An action at the end and a comment regarding the cube within a cube lead me to believe that there may be a sequel (which hopefully will not take the decade that Interstellar experienced, from ideation to production).
I hope that you will have an opportunity to see this science fiction film (one of my favorites after the original The Day the Earth Stood Still).

Mira on 05/28/2015

I've somehow missed this film at the cinema. I'll keep an eye out for it to see it on TV. Thanks for the review :) I appreciated your brief Morse interlude as well, as I didn't know that much about it, only that it's dots and letters :)

DerdriuMarriner on 05/26/2015

sheilamarie, The deeper I go into the science, especially as explained by theoretical physicists such as Stephen Hawking and Kip Thorne, the more fascinating film depictions of such mind-challenging concepts become.
But this film also may be enjoyed simply as an adventurous trek in space.

sheilamarie on 05/25/2015

Although I can't pretend to understand this stuff, I appreciate your review.

You might also like

Book Review: The Illustrated Theory of Everything by Stephen W...

The Illustrated Theory of Everything by Stephen W. Hawking considers the orig...

Film Review: The Theory of Everything

The biopic The Theory of Everything approaches the world-loved theoretical ph...


Disclosure: This page generates income for authors based on affiliate relationships with our partners, including Amazon, Google and others.
Loading ...
Error!