If You Like The Hobbit You Will Also Like These Books

by Sam

Having finished The Hobbit and looking for similar books you might like? Here a list and summary of books that might appeal to a Hobbit fan.

So, you have finished reading 'The Hobbit' and now you are looking for similar books? If you enjoyed the story of Bilbo Baggins that traveled 'There and Back Again' through Middle-Earth by J.R.R. Tolkien chances are good you will enjoy the following books ans series that also belong to the same genre, (High) Fantasy. Let me take you on a magical journey through these different worlds full of dragons, elves, dwarfs and magic ;-) Ready? Let's go then! Mount a dragon or a broomstick and fly with me through the magical world of fantasy literature ...

Let's go on a magical journey!
Let's go on a magical journey!

Books by the same author - J.R.R. Tolkien

It is only natural when having finished a book you like to look first to other books by the same author. But The Hobbit stands out in J.R.R. Tolkien's work, not only because it was his first novel, but also it was meant to be a children's book! But like the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, it became quickly also a favorite with adults.

Those books by Tolkien that build up on The Hobbit and take place in the same mythical past called 'Middle-Earth' are darker in tone and contain considerably more fighting and conflicts. Also the language has become more 'tolkienish' and can be a bit hard to read. Said all this, here my personal favorites, in order of events:

Other Tolkien Books

The Silmarillion - Published posthumously by his son Christopher is based on Tolkien's extensive notes and drafts. It is the sequel to The Hobbit and describes the world of Middle-Earth from its creations until the events that let to the journeys in The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. It is rather difficult to read and dense, but if you enjoy the way Tolkien uses language, you will enjoy this book plus it gives you a good grounding in Middle-Earth, which is important if you want to fully appreciate his other, related, works.

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy - I tried to read these three books before, but only succeeded after having seen the movies. I don't know if that is because I am not a native English speaker or simply because I needed the visual input to really be able to 'see' Tolkien's world. After I had seen the movies, I really did enjoy reading the books. The story starts some years after The Hobbit finished and without giving away too much, evolves around the journey Frodo, Bilbo's cousin, and his friends have to undertake in order to destroy the magical ring that Bilbo brought back from his first journey. Only if this ring is destroyed will Lord Sauron be defeated and Middle-Earth will be save from him.

The Inheritance Cycle

Normally I care not too much about the background of an author, only about the finished book, but it did impress me that Christopher Paolini finished the draft of the first book (Eragon) at only 15 years! The story of Eragon, and the subsequent books Eldest, Brisingr and Inheritance is that of a farm boy that finds a dragon egg and his growing up, becoming a dragon rider, a fighter and ultimately the leader of the resistance against the evil King Galbatorix, he himself a dragon rider. The books are easy to read, but not 'simple' in their story lines and contain a great amount of character development, twists, sudden turns and surprises. Situated in a mythical world were dragons and elves exist as well as other magical creatures, they make for a great read for every fantasy fan that finds Tolkien to 'heavy'.

The Chronicles of Narnia

These seven books by C.S.Lewis, a contemporary of Tolkien and close friend and fellow 'inkling' describe a world, Narnia, that is parallel to others and can be reached by entering a magical wardrobe. Like The Hobbit, The Narnia Chronicles were meant to be a children's books, but have soon attracted also 'grown-ups' as readers. The language is easy to understand without being too simplistic and the books can be read either on their own, or as a series. But I don't believe anybody that has entered the magical world of Narnia, full of mystic, talking animals and epic battles would stop at only one book ;-)

As for the reading order, C.S.Lewis himself stated that he prefers the books to be read in the chronological order of the events, and not by publishing date, which would be this one: The Magician's Nephew, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, The Horse and His Boy, Prince Caspian, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair and The Last Battle.

The Narnia books by C.S. Lewis, despite having been written for children, and having mostly children as their main protagonists, are also a great read for adults, but somewhat less complex than the other books reviewed in this article.

Your Opinion Please

Are you a Hobbit fan? Do you have another suggestion which book a person should read after having finished with The Hobbit? Please leave them in a comment!

If You Liked The Book, You Will Love The Movie!

Great article by fellow writer Terri Rexson:
An Unexpected Journey is the first of two Hobbit movies by Peter Jackson.
Updated: 02/16/2012, Sam
Thank you! Would you like to post a comment now?


Sam on 02/09/2012

Oh, yeah! The Dragon Lady, one of my favorite fantasy/science fiction authors, together with Marion Zimmer Bradley, but her Pern series lacks the rest of the magical ingredients like elves and dwarfs ;-)

Lissie on 02/09/2012

I think I read the Narnia series before the Hobbit- I was probably about 10 or 11 - but I was a bit of a book worm! I must admit I've never finished LOTR and The Simillalrin (sp) was worse! I think I then went on to Anne McCaffery- she has dragons doesn't she?

Sam on 02/08/2012

Hi Terri, my pleasure, your article was so great, I couldn't resist linking to it ;-)
No, I must have missed that part of 'reading The Hobbit to your son', blessed ADD getting me all the time! I think for a young child, the Narnia Chronicles would be great but I also will check out the book you mentioned, thanks again for your comment!

TerriRexson on 02/08/2012

Thanks for the mention! As you know, I'm currently reading The Hobbit to my son so I've been wondering about this. He's fascinated by dragons so I think we'll try The Ice Dragon by George R.R. Martin. I love his fantasy novels for adults which are obviously Tolkien inspired.

You might also like

The Discworld Evolution of Granny Weatherwax

Terry Pratchett's Discworld is one of the most successful fantasy series of a...

Is Thirteen (Volume One) the Scariest Horror Book Ever Written?

Viral internet marketing campaign, meme or reality? That's the question that ...

Disclosure: This page generates income for authors based on affiliate relationships with our partners, including Amazon, Google and others.
Loading ...