Other Books Like Fifty Shades Of Grey

by marciag

So what are some other books like Fifty Shades Of Grey? If you've read and liked it and you're now looking for something similar, you can find here similar books to enjoy.

The steamy romance genre has really taken the world by storm the last year or so, and many people are now looking to find other books like Fifty Shades of Grey to satisfy their hunger for this very popular genre.

Women love the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy and with good reason. Did you know that only in 2012 the series has sold over 4 million copies in the UK alone? In fact with the exception of Harry Potter, this is the fastest adult selling novel of all time. It's crazy, but true.

Now don't get me wrong, it is not an example of brilliant fiction by all means, it is afterall erotic fiction which leaves not much hidden, but I think our modern culture is at a point where this kind of writing comes across much easier, it is much more accepted (not only within closed doors without anyone knowing what you are reading) and well, women simply can finally let go.

So if you've read Fifty Shades Of Grey and want something more like it, read further, as I think you'll like the selection below.

Just Why Is Fifty Shades Of Grey So Popular Anyway?

Before we go onto the list of similar books to Fifty Shades Of Grey, it is interesting to see why women love this genre in the first place (and yes, I love it too).

As I mentioned above, I think it has to do with the 'timing for this kind of fiction and its acceptance' is right. Just about 20 years ago such a book wouldn't have caused such a revolution among women.

Also I think it has to do with the fact that we all like fantasy one way or another. And here I'm not talking about Harry Potter type of fantasy, but the Twilight style, or the fantasy of being swept away by a strong hunk who can take all the responsibility for what happens next.

Also let's face it, not everyone can actually live out these fantasies in real life, plus not many would want to in the first place. But dreaming about it in a very safe environment, well, that's another story altogether.

Do You Like To Read Books Like Fifty Shades Of Grey?

Bared To You - a Crossfire Novel

by Sylvia Day
Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel

Bared to You is extremely similar to Fifty Shades of Grey. If you want something that totally fits in style, intensity of emotions and overall theme, this book should be it.

The book is the first in the Crossfire series and currently there are 3 books published (with the last one published early 2013). So now there is no reason to wait for a year until the next books comes out - you can get all 3 right away, especially since they're so cheap at Amazon.

Basically this series follows the two main characters Gideon Cross and Eva Tramell, both who are quite wealthy. Gideon has nothing but sex on his mind and according to Eva, is very, very hot. Not only that, but he is extremely attracted to Eva, and is extremely jealous when it comes to her too.

Personally if I have to compare it with the Fifty Shades of Grey, I think I actually like this series more. The story is also told from the first point of view, so it's easy to immerse into the characters and story line with ease, but I found the writing to be a bit better overall.

I think if you read this series, you will be quite pleased and you might even agree with me about it being better.

The Sweet Series

by Maya Banks
Sweet Surrender

If you're looking for books similar to Fifty Shades of Grey, here is another series that fits the bill as well. The Sweet Series includes currently 6 published books, ranging from the first one being published back in 2008 to the last one released in 2012. Plenty of books to read and get entertained from you haven't tried this series yet.

The novels are extremely steamy and it can easily leave many people blushing. Basically it is about a group of coworkers working at a security firm in Houston. I do recommend you read the Sweet series in order because each book is focused on two main characters and their steamy 'affair', however some of them usually feature in newer books as well and it's easier to keep track of who is who this way.

So if you like BDSM, steamy hot erotica and emotional fulfillment, the entire Sweet series is absolutely worth reading!

Unsticky

by Sarra Manning
Unsticky

Unsticky is a single book, not a series. Pretty much all the elements of what makes Fifty Shades of Grey so popular are here as well:

  • sexy, but dominating male with controlling and possessive tendencies
  • a rather inexperienced girl falling in love with an overly rich guy
  • lots of suppressed tension

I did find it just a bit lacking somehow. Don't get me wrong, it was there, yet somehow you were constantly feeling like you're waiting for something that never happened. The main characters seemed quite dysfunctional overall, so maybe that's what held me back from giving it full 5 stars.

Having said that, I find it a great read, and can I can recommend it if you're looking for books like 50 Shades of Grey.

Should Young Adults Read Books Similar To 50 Shades Of Grey?

   Login

Gabriel's Inferno Series

by Sylvain Reynard
Gabriel's Inferno (Gabriel, Book 1)

Gabriel's Inferno series is as steamy as it gets, and it has all the characteristics of a hot romance novel. The hunk Gabriel is rich, quite enigmatic and well...as hot as it gets. He leads a double-life, by day a Dante specialist, and by night a sex god.

Like in all similar style books, the plot is easy to figure out. The rich professor gets entangled with one of his students, Julia, who falls under the his spell right from the start. And the rest is, well steamy, hot and crazy romance.

Whenever I think of this book I remember one of the kiss scenes - honestly I don't think I've read a more sensual and erotically charged scene. And it didn't even have to get into weird or whatnot.

While outwards Gabriel is arrogant and distant, he is in fact totally the opposite, something that Julia will find out soon enough. Of course there is that taboo of teacher-student sexual relationship, but just forget for a moment the moral aspect of it, and simply enjoy the series for what it is - a great steamy romance, similar to Fifty Shades of Grey.

Beautiful Disaster

by Jamie McGuire
Beautiful Disaster: A Novel

If you're looking for other books like Fifty Shades of Grey, you have to read this series. Right now it has only two books, but at least you didn't have to wait for almost 2 years to get the second one, like the rest of us had to. You can read both books (Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster) right away.

Now this series is labeled as Young Adult because indeed both main characters are in college. However don't let that put you off from reading it, you'll be sorry you didn't!

Abby and Travis, both are college students, and Travis is extremely arrogant, used to have is own way with girls and he is way too bossy for his own good. And and way too hot too. And of course he is attracted to Abby right from the start, which means that he has to get her by any means possible. Even if it means having a bet with her involving Abby living with him for a month if she loses the said bet.

A really crazy, rich with steam and romantic adventure, one that will stay with you for a long time after you've read the two books currently published.

 

Did You Know That Fifty Shades Of Grey Will Become A Movie?

With a release date of 2014
RollingStone.comWatch Erotic 'Fifty Shades Darker' New Movie TrailerRollingStone.comThe erotic and eerie collide in the latest trailer for Fifty Shades Darker, the seq...
News Every day'Fifty Shades Darker' News, Updates & Spoilers - Mr. Grey Will Break His Promise, The Movie Under Controversy for ...News Every dayVery much like the...
Just JaredVIDEO: 'Fifty Shades Darker' Trailer Features So Many Sexy Moments!Just JaredHere's a synopsis of the second movie in the sexy franchise: When a wounded Chri...
moviepilot.comCould Ian Somerhalder Replace Jamie Dornan In A Fourth 'Fifty Shades Of Grey' Movie?moviepilot.comWhether or not Ian does join the franchise in the futur...

And this is it. My personal selection of hot romance books that will sweep you off your feet. I enjoyed each and one of these books and I can only recommend them. If you haven't read them yet, I suggest you do, and if you have read these and more, let me know in the Guestbook below what else can you recommend for others who enjoy immersing themselves in this crazy host, steamy romance world.

Updated: 04/24/2013, marciag
 
Thank you! Would you like to post a comment now?
1

Can You Suggest More Romantic Books Like 50 Shades Of Grey?


   Login
marciag on 04/28/2013

Actually Belinda you might be onto something. You can cram literally hundreds of books on an iPad or Kindle and noone is the wiser as to what they read. And let's face it, this type of novel is not best read while commuting to work in the morning :D

belinda342 on 04/28/2013

I think I'm the only woman in the world that hasn't read the original! It's on my list, though. I read somewhere that one of the reasons for this book's popularity (and the popularity of ones like it) is due to the advent of e-readers. Now no one knows what you are reading unless you tell them. Before the book covers always gave us--I mean them-- away, and women wouldn't read them because they didn't want to be ridiculed. Now...well, anything goes. Quite literally actually.

WordChazer on 04/25/2013

My thoughts entirely, Marcia!

marciag on 04/25/2013

Thanks for the recommendation. I also have a beach read lens at Squidoo, so I know what you mean. Sorry, better no link, I try to keep it clean if possible :)

WordChazer on 04/24/2013

Ambition by Julie Burchill is pretty much similar. It interweaves straight and lesbian sex with prostitution, BDSM and the things an ambitious female journalist will do to further her career. There's all kinds of kink in there, and every sexual stereotype you can think of to boot. I call it a perfect beach read. I wrote a whole Squidoo lens on ideal holiday reading, of which this was one. Link can be provided if required ;-)

You might also like

5 Good Books Like The Hunger Games

Looking for similar good books to The Hunger Games? If you've read this trilo...

What Is Dystopian Fiction

In short, a young adult genre that is very hot right now. Setting that aside,...


Disclosure: This page generates income for authors based on affiliate relationships with our partners, including Amazon, Google and others.
Loading ...
Error!