The Maze Runner Trilogy

by Jyreeil

If you liked The Hunger Games and/or Divergent, then you'll definitely love this series, which is by James Dashner.

Ok, so like the other two series my sister actually got me into this on a car trip(seems like the only time I actually feel like reading anymore). But don't worry, we go on car trips somewhat frequently. Anyways, it took me a while to finish the first book, because I didn't quite get into it enough in my first reading session, but I finished it before thanksgiving, and then read the second and third books in three days. Trust me. It's that good.

The first book is slated to come out as a movie next September. I know, seems too long to wait, but wait we must!:o

Thumbnail image courtesy of Stuart Miles at: http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/break-out-of-maze-showing-puzzle-photo-p207200

The Maze Runner

The First Book In The Series

Ok, so it starts out all innocent like, and yet there's this air of curiosity as you begin reading as you just wonder what the heck is going on.

 

Thomas is a teenager, and he has lost his memories.  The book begins with him stuck in a dark elevator, not knowing where he is and why he is there.  The top of the elevator opens and he finds himself in a place called the glade, which is a mostly self sustaining environment full of other teenage boys who had also lost their memory prior to entering "The Glade" just as he has.  This is all surrounded by a square of very tall stone walls with a gap in the center of each side.  Outside the gaps is a maze, which a select few of the "Gladers" have been tirelessly searching to find a way out.  There's a catch, though, which is that the gaps close at night time and monsters come into the maze and anyone caught outside after nightfall is sure to have a rough time.

Link to the Maze Runner

I loved it, and I think you'll love it too.
The Maze Runner (Book 1)

Book one in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series...

Delacorte Press  / $9.99  $0.50

View on Amazon

The Maze Runner Series (Maze Runner)

The perfect gift for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent, this boxed set includes the paperback editions of James Dashner's #1 New York Times bestselling series--The Maze Run...

Delacorte Press  / $39.96  $12.24

View on Amazon

The Maze Runner

Only $13.99

View on Amazon

The Scorch Trials

If you don't want to ruin the first book then don't continue reading.:o

Warning:  This may spoil the first book if you really want to read the series all the way through.  Skip to the bottom if you don't want any spoilers.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So, continuing in the series, the Gladers are finally out of the maze, but now they have an even harder challenge ahead.  The challenge is to traverse 100 miles of tunnels, desert, and crank infested land to secure the cure to the illness they've all been infected with.  Thomas will soon find that he has more than one love interest, but what will happen with this love triangle?

The Scorch Trials

I read this one in two days, can you do better?
The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, Book 2)

Book two in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series...

Delacorte Press  / $9.99  $2.78

View on Amazon

The Death Cure

If you continue reading you may spoil the second book.

Warning:  Don't read this if you want to read the series all the way through.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So, Teresa's betrayal of Thomas weighs heavily on his heart, and he may never forgive her for what she did.  But, life goes on, and the Gladers must find a way out of the compound they are being held captive at, and find a way to get the chip out of their brains that the evil corporation is using to control them.  Will they find a cure to the deadly disease called "The Flare"?  I guess you'll just have to read it and find out.

The Death Cure

I read this book in one day(about 8 hours) can you do better??
The Death Cure

Thomas knows that WICKED can't be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they've collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with ful...

View on Amazon

The Kill Order (Maze Runner Prequel) (The Maze Runner Series)

The prequel to the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Kill Order is a modern classic for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. It can be read alone or as a comp...

View on Amazon

Conclusion

My thoughts on the book

I thought these books were just fantastic, and when I finished the second book, I just had to go out at 6:30 on black Friday morning just to procure the third book.  So, I subsequently finished the third book that very day.  Warning:  If you finish the second and third books in three days you may go into major withdrawal and feel like there is a big hole in your life. 

 

Luckily there is a prequel that you can read as well.  I have not had the delight of reading this one yet, because I try not to buy too many things for myself this close to Christmas.  And, I did ask for the Maze Runner books that I don't have for Christmas, so I guess I'll just have to wait and see.  Worst comes to worst I'll just buy the scorch trials for myself, and experience the awesomeness once more.

The Maze Runner (Book 1)

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Dylan O'Brien and Kaya Scodelario.The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Maze Runner is a modern clas...

Delacorte Press  / $9.99  $0.50

View on Amazon

The Death Cure

Thomas knows that WICKED can't be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they've collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with ful...

Delacorte Press  / $9.99  $4.00

View on Amazon

The Kill Order (Maze Runner Prequel) (The Maze Runner Series)

The prequel to the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Kill Order is a modern classic for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. It can be read alone or as a comp...

Delacorte Press  / $18.99  $5.25

View on Amazon

Maze Runner Trilogy Collection James Dashner 4 Books Set (The Scorch Trials, The Maze Runner, Dea...

Maze Runner Trilogy Collection James Dashner 4 Books Set (The Scorch Trials, The Maze Runner, Death Cure, The Kill Zone)

Chicken House  / Only $20.60

View on Amazon

Updated: 02/11/2014, Jyreeil
 
Thank you! Would you like to post a comment now?
5

Comments


   Login
Jyreeil on 12/16/2013

@JoHarrington Haha, yeah I was the one that recommended this to you. I thought I'd just make a Wizzley article about it for good measure, lol.

@Richard Thanks, and try to do it before the movie comes out. I don't know if it would make that big of a difference, but I like to read books before the movie comes out. I guess it just makes me have a greater connection to the movie or something. I read the Lord of the Rings years before the movies came out, and when they did, I was so happy I almost cried at the beginning of the first one.

Richard on 12/16/2013

I did love the Hunger Games, so I'll be sure to check this out. Excellent review!

JoHarrington on 12/16/2013

I was about to say that this is a coincidence, as a friend recommended this to me recently too. Then I realized it was you who wrote the review! Ok, it's still on my 'to read' list.

Anon on 12/16/2013

They sound like amazing books. Especially Maze Runner. I seriously can't wait to get it and read it. Sounds like my kind of book.

You might also like

The Divergent Trilogy

The post apocalyptic society series similar to "The Hunger Games", it is writ...

The Discworld Evolution of Granny Weatherwax

Terry Pratchett's Discworld is one of the most successful fantasy series of a...


Disclosure: This page generates income for authors based on affiliate relationships with our partners, including Amazon, Google and others.
Loading ...
Error!