Books Similar to the Hunger Games - Not the Usual List

by TerriRexson

Are you looking for books similar to the Hunger Games. I'm a long-time sci-fi and fantasy fiction fan, here's what the Hunger Games reminded me of.

A lot of adults as well as teens have read and enjoyed the Hunger Games and its sequels by Suzanne Collins. I've been reading sci-fi and fantasy novels since I was a child and I've just read the Hunger Games.

I enjoyed the Hunger Games, it was engaging and fast-paced. But I couldn't say that it stacks up to some of the books I've read in the past. I don't think I would go back and re-read it.

If you've enjoyed the Hunger Games and would like to read more books that have a similar feel to them, then these are the books I recommend. Note that these are not kids books and may not be suited to younger teens.

You can think of the books on this page as the more grown up reading that you progress to after the Hunger Games.

For teens see: teen books like the hunger games.

Catching Fire and Mockingjay

Of course if you haven't read the sequels to the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins then you should  start there. Most reviewers seem to prefer the first novel, but I found Catching Fire and Mockingjay to be much more engaging. 

Books by Sherri S Tepper

I've read a lot of Sherri S Tepper's books. She's very good at building strong characters that you really care about. Many of her books explore social structures and fantasy themes through the eyes of teenage girls and women. 

One book that has similar themes to the Hunger Games is The Gate to Women's Country. Like the Hunger Games, The Gate to Women's Country is set in a dystopian future, post-holocaust in this case. 

It's a feminist society where the women have taken control to prevent another world war. We follow Stavia, who is a child of 10 at the start of the book as she grows to adulthood in this society where men are segregated into garrisons and fight barbaric battles. 

The Gate to Women's Country

Sherri S Tepper
The Gate to Women's Country
$7.99  $3.58

The Clan of the Cave Bear Series

As I was reading the Hunger Games it kept taking me back to the Clan of the Cave Bear series of books by Jean M Auel. 

Rather than being set in the future, these books are set deep in the past - in prehistoric times when Neanderthal's and our human ancestors co-existed. 

It was the second book in the series The Valley of the Horses that I was most reminded of. Ayla the lead female character is 5 at the beginning of the first book, but in Valley of the Horses Ayla is older and out on her own, using her survival skills. 

She meets Jondalar, a young man who has been seriously injured by a cave lion and must use her skills to save him. It's this aspect of young people using their wits, skills and natural resources to survive in a hostile environment and a different world that reminded me of the Hunger Games. 

The Valley of the Horses

Jean M Auel
The Valley of Horses (Earth's Childre...
$17.00  $5.85

Anne Mccaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern

How can one girl save the whole world?

I read Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern novels when I was a teenager. There are lots of them so if you enjoy this series you'll have plenty to read. 

In Dragonflight Lessa is a kitchen girl on Pern, a planet colonized by humans. Her father was betrayed and she serves people who took over his land. 

Lessa meets and bonds with a dragon, and when her world is threatened she finds herself in the front line. 

More Books Like the Hunger Games

If You Like the Hunger Games
Recommendations from Barnes & Noble on what to read if you like The Hunger Games.

If You Like the Hunger Games, Check Out
Recommendations from Scholastic.

What to Read After the Hunger Games
Dystopian titles for teens from Amazon.

Updated: 03/19/2012, TerriRexson
Thank you! Would you like to post a comment now?

Any other suggests for books similar to the Hunger Games?

TerriRexson on 03/14/2012

Thanks Katie. I found lots of lists of teen dystopia books, but I know a lot of adults have enjoyed the Hunger Games too. And I'm sure older teens will be looking for something more grown up to progress to.

katiem2 on 03/13/2012

Ew very cool, I was just thinking I wish there was something to read on the order of the hunger games, you have got to be a mind reader. Anyway thanks for the great reading material references. I'm getting into books on tape or cd these days, thinking of travel for spring break, my kids love listening to books on tape while driving. ROAD TRIP!

You might also like

The Discworld Evolution of Granny Weatherwax

Terry Pratchett's Discworld is one of the most successful fantasy series of a...

Is Thirteen (Volume One) the Scariest Horror Book Ever Written?

Viral internet marketing campaign, meme or reality? That's the question that ...

Disclosure: This page generates income for authors based on affiliate relationships with our partners, including Amazon, Google and others.
Loading ...